Harwich Town Council

The Guildhall,
Church Street,
Harwich. CO12 3DS

t: 01255 507211
e: info@harwichtowncouncil.co.uk
Hours: 9.30am – 1pm Monday, Wednesday & Friday

REMINDER OF CHANGES TO WASTE SERVICES OVER CHRISTMAS

Residents in Tendring are being reminded of changes to their waste and recycling collection days over the festive period.

Waste and recycling collections will not take place on the Christmas Day, Boxing Day or New Year’s Day bank holidays.

Changes are as below, and are also included on residents’ collection calendars:

Scheduled date Revised date
Monday, 27 December Wednesday, 29 December
Tuesday, 28 December Thursday, 30 December
Wednesday, 29 December Friday, 31 December
Thursday, 30 December Tuesday, 4 January 2022
Friday, 31 December Wednesday, 5 January 2022
Monday, 3 January 2022 Thursday, 6 January 2022
Tuesday, 4 January 2022 Friday, 7 January 2022
Wednesday, 5 January 2022 Saturday, 8 January 2022
Thursday, 6 January 2022 Monday, 10 January 2022
Friday, 7 January 2022 Tuesday, 11 January 2022

 

Collections week commencing 10 January will be two days later, with Thursday households collected on Saturday (15 January) and those due for collection on Friday 14 January collected on Monday 17 January.

For week beginning Monday 17 January collections will be a day later than usual, with Friday collections taking place on Saturday (22 January)

Collections resume as normal from Monday 24 January.

In addition to the above changes, for households’ first wheelie bin collection after Christmas each household will be allowed an additional two black bags of side waste.

For Christmas trees St Helena Hospice has expanded its Treecycle service to now cover the CO7, CO9, CO11, CO15 and CO16 postcodes, meaning households in these areas can book for their tree to be collected on Saturday 8 January in return for a donation to the charity. To find out more and to book visit www.sthelena.org.uk/tree-cycle21.

Households subscribed to the garden waste brown bin service are reminded there are no collections over the Christmas and New Year period, but they can leave a Christmas tree out with their bin for their first collection afterwards.

Michael Talbot, TDC Cabinet Member for Environment, said waste collection changes were being kept to a minimum.

“We acknowledge that the Christmas and New Year festivities can lead to extra waste, so we are allowing some additional waste for people’s first black bin collection after Christmas,” Cllr Talbot added.

“However, we would encourage people to continue recycling as much as possible, using additional boxes if required.”

People can find updated information on TDC’s Christmas services web page, which has full details of seasonal changes to services across the authority: https://www.tendringdc.gov.uk/christmasservices

In an emergency which requires TDC’s assistance residents can contact the council’s Control Centre on 01255 222022, available 24/7.